About the Hand OA Working Group

Hand osteoarthritis (OA) is a highly prevalent disorder, causing a considerable burden of disease. Simultaneous involvement of multiple hand joints and presence of different subsets (e.g., nodal, thumb base, and erosive OA) make it difficult to study. To advance our understanding, high-quality studies with optimal outcome measurement are essential. The Outcome Measures in Rheumatology (OMERACT) Hand OA Working Group (WG), assembled in 2010, endorsed a core domain set for clinical trials of symptom and structure modification and observational studies at OMERACT 2014, which was included in the Osteoarthritis Research Society International recommendations for design and conduct of clinical trials in hand OA.

Désirée van der Heijde

Désirée van der Heijde


catherine hill

Catherine Hill


Margreet Kloppenburg

Margreet Kloppenburg


Féline Kroon

Féline Kroon

Emerging Leader


Francis Berenbaum - Co-Chair

Ida Haugen - Co-Chair

Mariko Ishimori - Co-Chair

Søren Berg - Patient Research Partner

Hellen Laheij - Patient Research Partner

OMERACT Endorsed Core Domain Set for Hand Osteoarthritis

Screen Shot 2021-02-22 at 2.11.07 PM


Working Group Members:

Margreet Kloppenburg
Francis Berenbaum
Ida Haugen
Désirée van der Heijde
Catherine Hill
Mariko Ishimori
Féline Kroon
Søren Berg
Hellen Laheij
Abhishek Abhishek
Kelli Allen
Roy Altman
Nigel Arden
Isam Atroshi
Dorcas Beaton
Sita Bierma-Zeinstra
Johannes Bijlsma
Fraser Birrell
Francesco Blanco
Maarten Boers
Annelies Boonen
Robin Christensen
Philip Conaghan

Ben Dean
Micheal Doherty
Maxime Dougados
Krysia Dziedzic
Els van den Ende
Martin Englund
David Felson
Laure Gossec
Hilde Hammer
Gillian Hawker
Gabriel Herrero-Beaumont
David Hunter
Helgi Jonsson
Leonid Kalichman
Teemu Karjalainen
Ingvild Kjeken
Marion Kortekaas
Tore Kvien
Robert Landewé
Burkhard Leeb
Katy Y.Y. Leung
Norman Madsen
Alexander Mathiessen
Ali Zavareh

Emanuel Maheu
Michelle Marshall
Dennis McGonagle
Karel Pavelka
Leonardo Punzi
Roberta Ramonda
Francois Rannou
Pascal Richette
Valentin Ritschl
Zoltán Szekanecz
Barbara Slatkowsky-Christensen
Josef Smolen
Tim Spector
Tanja Stamm
Pernille Steen Pettersen
Ai Lyn Tan
Peter Taylor
Carina Thorstensson
Till Uhlig
Gust Verbruggen
Marianna Vlychou
René Westhovens
Ruth Wittoek
Thasia Woodworth

Interested in joining the working group as a member?

Please enter your name.
Please enter a message.
Scroll to Top